Home >
About Us > Board of Trustees
Sacred Heart Schools
Parent LoginSummer CampAthletics
About UsAdmissionsAcademicsStudent LifeGivingParentsAlumni

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has the responsibility, in consultation with school Administration, for setting school policy, maintaining the Schools’ financial health, and selecting the Head of Schools. The Board and Administration, as the primary decision making bodies, are involved in long-range planning, evaluation and direction. The Board is accountable through the Sacred Heart Commission on Goals to the United States Provincial Team of the Society of the Sacred Heart for operating the Schools according to the Goals and Criteria of Sacred Heart Education. The Board is composed of no more than 30 members, three of whom must be Religious of the Sacred Heart. The Head of Schools and President of Parents of the Heart (the Schools’ parents organization) are members, ex officio. 

The Board meets as a whole five times per year and operates through a series of standing committees. Each board member serves on at least one standing committee and many on more than one. Committees include: 

  • Executive Committee
  • Audit & Risk Management
  • Development
  • Finance
  • Goals & Strategic Planning
  • Governance & Nominating
  • Buildings & Grounds Council
  • Tuition Task Force Council

As is typical of independent schools, the Board is self-perpetuating. This means that the trustees select their own successors. Criteria to be considered includes diversity of talent and background, willingness to serve and perform the duties required, prior efforts on behalf of the Schools and conformance to the guidelines for makeup of the board as set forth in the bylaws. The board is diverse in terms of talent and background, but share a common devotion to Sacred Heart and its mission as expressed through hard work and generosity.


Mr. Jeffrey Jozwiak

Chair of the Board

Mrs. Elizabeth Connelly
Chair Emeritus

Mr. Dustan Beier 
Sister Mary Bernstein, RSCJ ASH’64
Mrs. Suzanne Bettman
Sister Sally Brennan, RSCJ
Mr. Aric Cleland 
Father Justin Daffron, SJ
Mr. Peter H. D’Arrigo
Mrs. Ellen E. Engel
Sister Frances Gimber, RSCJ
Mr. Eric J. Gorman
Mr. Eric Hansen 
Mr. Jeffrey Hesse
Mrs. Virginia S. Hiteshew
Mr. Michael Husman H’89
Ms. Judith Keller
Mr. Carson P. Kyhl
Mr. Michael H. Mooney, Jr.
Mrs. Yvonne Ralsky
Mr. George Ruhana
Mr. Rex Sessions
Ms. Kimberly M. Taylor-Smith
Mrs. Lisa Tiemann - President of Parents of the Heart 
Mr. Nat Wilburn - Head of Schools

© 2014  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map  |  6250 N. Sheridan Road  

Chicago, IL 60660  |  773.262.4446  |  Fax 773.262.6178  |  Contact Us  

    Flickr RSS    
  Alumni Network
email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite