Home >
Alumni > Catherine I. Seiker Award
Sacred Heart Schools
Parent LoginSummer CampAthletics
About UsAdmissionsAcademicsStudent LifeGivingParentsAlumni

The Catherine I. Seiker, RSCJ Award

The Catherine I. Seiker, RSCJ Award is given to a Sheridan Road alumna/us or RSCJ who has shown outstanding dedication and service to Sacred Heart Schools. 

2014 Recipient - Sister Susan Maxwell, RSCJ
Sheridan Road holds a special place in the heart of Sister Susan Maxwell, RSCJ, who served as director of schools for twelve years, 1997-2009. She left to serve a three-year term on the provincial leadership team of the former United States Province of the Society of the Sacred Heart. Today she is researching the history of the Network of Sacred Heart Schools with plans to write a book.

Sister Maxwell began her education ministry in the mid-1960s teaching children and adults in Harlem, New York. She later served as headmistress at the Academy of the Sacred Heart, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, from 1974 to 1984, and was a member of the editorial board of Independent Schools Magazine, a publication of the National Association of Independent Schools, Boston. She was the director of the Network of Sacred Heart Schools from 1984 to 1995.

Sister Maxwell has served on the board of trustees at Convent of the Sacred Heart, New York City; Manhattanville College, Purchase, New York; Convent of the Sacred Heart, Greenwich, Connecticut; Forest Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bellevue, Washington; and Josephinum Academy, Chicago, Illinois. She has consulted with the Society of the Sacred Heart provinces in Australia, New Zealand, Kenya, Uganda, Ireland, Scotland, Malta, Canada and Japan. She served as a member of the New York provincial team from 1970 to 1974.

Sister Maxwell holds a Bachelor of Arts in history from Manhattanville College, a Master’s Degree in teaching from Northwestern University, and a Master’s Degree in religion from Manhattanville. She also holds permanent certification in counseling and secondary school teaching in the state of Michigan.

Past Recipients

2013 - Joanne Steenveld, ASH'56
2011 - Sr. Pamela Hickey, RSCJ ASH’47
2010 - Patricia Nebrida ASH’86
2009 - Anita Nagler ASH '73
2008 -  Kathy McKeown ASH '54 and Sr. Margaret Mary Munch, RSCJ
2007 – Ginger Tarjan ASH ’68
2006 – Joan Schneider Wrenn ASH ’55

2005 – Sr. Rosemary Dewey, RSCJ 

2004 – William Campbell, Jr. H ‘62
2003 – Andrea O’Leary Hasten ASH ‘71

2002 – Sr. Mary McMahon, RSCJ 
2001 – Rosemary O’Neil ASH ‘42
2000 – Marty Corbett Kohl ASH ’43

1999 – Frances Kimball Regan ASH ‘36

1998 – Rosalie Kempe ASH ‘23

1997 – Carita Corbett Rothing ASH ‘44

Catherine I. Seiker, RSCJSr. Seiker has had a long affiliation with and affection for Sheridan Road. Her relationship with the Schools began in 1945 when she was sent to teach at Hardey Preparatory School for Boys and the Academy of the Sacred Heart’s elementary school. In later years, she served as the Business Manager and directed volunteers. During the 1980’s, Sr. Seiker embarked upon the massive task of organizing the Schools’ archives and guiding the Alumni Association through a period of critical transition. She worked tirelessly from handwritten records to produce an Alumni directory. She currently lives at Oakwood Convent of the Sacred Heart in Atherton, California, and is well known for the interest she continues to take and the phone calls she continues to make to alumni around the country.

The Sheridan Road Alumni Association Board President presents the award to the winner at the annual Alumni Luncheon.

Alumni Network

Alumni Portal Login

-- please login --
  • May 2015
    • ThuMay28 Merci Beaucoup Mass and Reception 6:30 PM
  • June 2015

Latest SHS News

© 2015  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map  |  6250 N. Sheridan Road  

Chicago, IL 60660  |  773.262.4446  |  Fax 773.262.6178  |  Contact Us  

    Flickr RSS   
  Alumni Network
email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite