Catholic, Independent Elementary Schools Serving Chicago's Children Since 1876


Strategic Plan

Providing a remarkable education that both educates and builds character by joining tradition with innovation, timeless values with a modern, exemplary curriculum.

Sacred Heart is deeply committed to St. Madeleine Sophie Barat's founding vision of providing a transformative education that reveals God's love for each person. Our core values inspire our graduates and  our entire community to be guided by faith, passionate about learning, committed to service and justice, engaged in building community, and dedicated to personal growth.

As a Catholic, independent school, we have:

  • Undertaken in the past three years two intensive year-long self-studies in all areas of school life 
  • Been affirmed in our dedication to mission by the Society of the Sacred Heart
  • Been re-accredited by the Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS
  • Opened the first Sacred Heart-Sheridan Road preschool for 3- and 4-year-olds
  • Undergone analysis by independent experts on campus safety, facilities planning, and governance
  • Engaged and utilized independent research in the areas of enrollment and marketing 

Strategic Goals

1.  Mission: Emphasize the Sacred Heart mission as offering an education environment that is responsive to the needs of students and families in today's society.

2.  Academic Excellence: Build upon our educational excellence by delivering an academic program that supports the social, emotional and intellectual development of students.

3.  Enrollment: Maintain a stable demand for enrollment among families whose values and need match Sacred Heart's mission.

4.  Diversity and Inclusion: Extend effort to build a community of shared values and diverse backgrounds.

5.  Operational Strength and Fiscal Soundness: Ensure long-term impact of the Sacred Heart mission through continued financial strength and operational excellence.

Download a copy of Sacred Heart's Strategic Plan.

2021-22 Board of Trustees

Mr. Rahul Danak
Chairperson of the Board


Mrs. Mary Anderson
Mr. Erwin Aulis
Ms. Anne Auten
Mr. Michael Baber, RSCJ Delegate
Mr. Keyandez Brooks
Dr. Rebecca Burns
Mrs. Joan Callahan
Mr. Pat Chambliss
Sr. Maria Cimperman, RSCJ
Ms. Karen Croteau
Mr. Kevin Dowdle 
Ms. Susan Eggers
Mr. Dan Fazio
Mrs. Christy Gerst
Dr. Chris Giannoulias
Mrs. Maureen Gilligan
Mrs. Cheri Hubbard
Ms. Pascale Kidanu Johnson A'94
Mr. Craig Korte
Mr. Matthew Lovell
Mr. Eric Mansell
Mr. Shawn Mansfield
Mr. Brian Phelan
Sr. Sue Rogers, RSCJ
Mrs. Heather Shaffer
Mr. Paul Sidrys
Mrs. Kathleen Steele
Ms. Meg Steele, Head of Schools
Mr. Peter Wall H'85
Mrs. Heather Zimmerman-Gaito (POTH)