Catholic, Independent Elementary Schools Serving Chicago's Children Since 1876


Mission and Goals

"Our education is not meant to turn the children out small and finished, but seriously begun on a wide-basis. Therefore they must leave us with some self-knowledge, some energy, some purpose...If they leave us without these three things they drift with the stream of life.” 

– Janet Erskine Stuart

Mission Statement

Sacred Heart Schools on Sheridan Road - the Academy of the Sacred Heart for Girls (founded in 1876) and Hardey Preparatory for Boys (founded in 1935) - are independent, Catholic, single-sex elementary schools committed to academic excellence within the context of a Christian community. Sacred Heart Schools welcomes students of all races, religious beliefs and socio-economic backgrounds. This educational mission is deeply rooted in the 200-year tradition of the Society of the Sacred Heart and shared with the Network of Sacred Heart Schools located on every major continent, including 25 schools in the United States and Canada.


Goals and Criteria

The essence of this educational vision and tradition is articulated in the Goals and Criteria of Sacred Heart Schools in the United States and Canada. This year, Sacred Heart Schools is focused on Goal II: Schools of the Sacred Heart commit themselves to a deep respect for intellectual values.


A number of years ago, Sacred Heart began celebrating its mission by recognizing a person or organization in the larger Chicagoland community whose life and work exemplifies one of the Goals of Sacred Heart education.

Previous Goal Award Recipients

2021 Goal I: Cardinal Blase J. Cupich
2020 Goal V: Lisa Damour, PhD
2019 Goal IV: RefugeeOne
2018 Goal III: Susan Maxwell, RSCJ
2017 Goal II: Wenche Haverkamp
2016 Goal I: The Jesuit Community of Loyola University
2015 Goal V: Family Matters
2014 Goal IV: Howard Area Community Center
2013 Goal III: Care for Real
2012 Goal II: Josephine Lee, Chicago Children’s Choir
2011 Goal I: Steve Bumpus
2010 Goal V: Helen Bruns Ryan
2009 Goal III: Mikva Challenge
2008 Goal IV: Inspiration Corporation
2007 Goal I: Msgr. Kenneth Velo, Big Shoulders
2006 Goal II: Dr. Constantine Mavroudis & Dr. Carl Backer, Children’s Memorial Hospital
2005 Goal V: Sr. Rosemary Connelly, Misericordia/Heart of Mercy
2004 Goal III: Shirley Ryan, Pathways Foundation